Election, News

June 7, 2016, primary election: Voter details

It’s time to earn your sticker. photo: Dwight Burdette

The June 7, 2016, election is really the culmination of voting, because people started doing in-person and mail-in voting in early May. For those who have not yet participated, we have compiled some information to help you this voting season.


By the time you read this, it will be too late to register if you’re not already registered. The deadline was May 23. To register for future elections, including the all-important November election, visit


If you don’t already know where to vote, you can look up your nearest polling place in an online directory. The Department of Elections has a polling place lookup service at


Early voting — whether by mail or at City Hall — began 29 days before the election.

There’s still time to vote before or on election day. You can vote in-person at City Hall Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. (closed May 30); Saturday–Sunday, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. (enter City Hall on Grove Street); and 7 a.m.–8 p.m. on election day, Tuesday, June 7.



President, Republican nomination: Donald Trump

President, Democratic nomination: Hillary Clinton, Bernie Sanders

Democratic Party County Central Committee, District 17: Arlo Smith, Jon Golinger, Shaun Haines, Cindy Wu, Sophie Maxwell, Francis Tsang, Nicholas Pasquariello, Tom Ammiano, Scott Wiener, Bevan Dufty, Rodney Hauge, Petra DeJesus, Jo Elias-Jackson, Pratima Gupta, Aaron Peskin, Malia Cohen, Rafael Mandelman, Michael Grafton, David Campos, Alysabeth Alexander, Frances Hsieh, Leah Pimentel, Marlene Tran, Gary McCoy, Alix Rosenthal, Wendy Chau, London Breed, Melissa San Miguel, Rebecca Prozan, Wade Woods, Jill Wynns, Zoe Dunning, Jane Kim, Rick Hauptman, John Burton, David Giesen, Joshua Arce, Gladys Soto, Tom Hsieh

Democratic Party County Central Committee, District 19: Mary Jung, Rachel Norton, Joel Engardio, Kat Anderson, Keith Baraka, Sandra Lee Fewer, Norman Yee, Brigitte Davila, Samuel Kwong, Myrna Melgar, Hene Kelly, Bill Fazio, Emily Murase, Eric Mar, Marjan Philhour, Gabriel Medina, Leah LaCroix, Angela Alioto, Trevor McNeil, Tom A. Hsieh, Mark Farrell

U.S. Senator: Democrats Kamala Harris, President Cristina Grappo, Massie Munroe, Herbert Peters, Emory Rodgers, Loretta Sanchez, Steve Stokes; Republicans Greg Conlon, Tom Del Beccaro, Von Hougo, Don Krampe, Jerry Laws, Tom Palzer, Karen Roseberry, Duf Sundheim, Ron Unz, Jarrell Williamson, Phil Wyman, George Yang; Green’s Pamela Elizondo; Libertarians Mark Matthew Herd,Gail Lightfoot; Peace and Freedom’s John Thompson Parker; and independents Mike Beitiks, Eleanor Garcia, Tim Gildersleeve, Clive Grey, Don Grundmann, Jason Hanania, Jason Kraus, Paul Merritt, Gar Myers, Ling Ling Shi, and Scott Vineberg.

U.S. Representative, District 12: Incumbent Democrat Nancy Pelosi, Republican Bob Miller, Green Barry Hermanson, independent Preston Picus

State Senator: Democrats Scott Wiener and Jane Kim, Republican Ken Loo

State Assembly Member, District 17: Incumbent Democrat David Chiu, Republican Matthew Del Carlo

State Assembly Member, District 19: incumbent Democrat Phil Ting, Republican Carlos Taylor

*In addition, voters will select judges and Republican primary voters will select GOP committee members, not listed here.

Local Measures

  • Proposition A: Public Health and Safety Bond
  • Proposition B: Charter Amendment: Park, Recreation and Open Space Fund
  • Proposition C: Charter Amendment: Affordable Housing Requirements
  • Proposition D: Initiative Ordinance: Office of Citizen Complaints Investigations
  • Proposition E: Initiative Ordinance: Paid Sick Leave

Regional Measure

  • Measure AA: San Francisco Bay Clean Water, Pollution Prevention and Habitat Restoration Program

State Measure

  • Proposition 50: California Suspension of Legislators Amendment


If you want to learn how the election process works in the city, the Department of Elections and SFGTV have a series of short, five-minute videos to illustrate different aspects of the process, including poll workers, ballot preparation, what happens to your ballot, and more. Find it at

Sources: City and County of San Francisco Department of Elections; Ballotpedia; California Secretary of State

Send to a Friend Print

Upcoming Events

more »

SFMOMA | Yayoi Kusama: Infinite Love

Feb-Sep 1-7
Info »

Download the Current Issue: July 2024

Follow Us